Remembering September 11, 2001

Where were you went you first heard about the events of the morning of September 11, 2001? I had just woken up when one of my friends and roommate’s sister called me. “The World Trade Center towers in New York City have been hit and the Pentagon was just hit.” “What?” I got up and turned on the TV. Sure enough. I can’t exactly remember if the towers had started to fall yet. I know I remember the 2nd one going down and all the uncertainty of are there anymore aircraft in the air that could do more damage. I pretty much watched TV for the rest of the day non-stop. I did go out and get gas, because the gas prices went up. There were long lines that day in South Lansing. I took my Walkman with me to work out at Curves, because I didn’t want to miss much of the coverage. Some of the women there at already heard enough, but it was definitely the topic of conversation while we were working out.

Tonight Russ and I were listening to “Silent Night 911,” first on the radio then on youtube, man did it bring the emotions of that day and the next couple of months back. I have tears in my eyes even now as I type this. I don’t want to loose the emotion I have related to September 11, 2001 and to remember that their are those in the world that don’t like and hate what our country stands for.

I am thankful for each and every service man who has lost their life fighting for my freedom and fighting to keep the rest of the world free from terror . Don’t ever forget that we are not free from terror and keep your guard up.

As I sit her typing this, my littlest sleepin on my chest, I must instill in my sons why it is important to honor God and country. They don’t have the still emotion of 9/11 etched into their memories.

GOD BLESS THE USA!!!!

Leave a Reply

