Project Plans

In looking forward to a decent stretch of days coming up in a couple of weeks, fall, and Christmas, I am busy thinking of the things I need to get done. Lets see what is on my to do list

Sewing machine projects

  • MSU diapers for William — have the fabric just need to cut them out and sew them
  • More diapers for William period . . .
  • Make a couple of recycled wool soakers (diaper covers for those who don’t know what I am talking about). Anyone know how to make them? I could use some help on my first project doing these. I have 2 sweaters that are already felted I just need to sew them up and lanolinize them. Looking forward to not having an occasionally wet bed and boy in the morning.
  • Fleece pants for the boys this winter. (I have some leftover fabric for these).
  • Flannel sleep pants. If Jo Ann’s has flannel$.99 again after Thanksgiving, I think my sisters may get pants again this year. Shh. . . Toi, you didn’t read this. 🙂 I think they all appreciated the ones they got last year and I know I could use a couple of more pairs of sleep pants myself, since I wore mine year round and have them on right now. This year will be even easier since I have my serger now. Mom gave it to me for Christmas after I made all the pants last year.
  • Rings slings. I have some promised slings for baby gifts I need to get finished and I also have a couple of people who would like to buy slings from me. Once again I have the materials around the house for these, just need to sit down and get them done.
  • Cloth books I started as Christmas presents last year. Maybe I can actually finish them to give this year. Though my nieces are almost too old for them now.

Around the house

  • Finish cleaning the garage so we can get the car in this winter.
  • Clean up the clutter — drop of the stuff we are going to donate.
  • Put away and sort out what boxes we don’t want to unpack, especially since we know we won’t be in this house more that a few years, like Russ’ at least 3 boxes of stuffed animals that went up to the attic in the garage. I think he needs to get rid of a few of these animals. He would probably say I need to get rid of my books, fabric and yarn. So I guess we are even.
  • Routine household maintenance.

Knitting & Crocheting

  • Russ’ afghan – He has me making him a knitted blanket, MSU colors of course. I am so glad that I have triple stranded it and working it on #13 needles. It is going pretty quickly.
  • Nursing Tank Top from Knitty
  • Socks and slippers for our household. I am already finding out the floors are going to be cold over the winter. Russ says it is the crawlspace. I think I have to agree.
  • Dishcloths — maybe Christmas presents
  • Hats for my boys and self and maybe some mittens too
  • Keep working on the crochet afghan I started my senior year of college (Fall 1999), still have to finish it. Maybe I will actually get it done this year. It would be a good warm blanket for Tyler this winter.

Do I have enough ideas — many things I do have the raw materials for, so that will be good for our budget. Then look for good deals on the rest of the items.

Well I should probably get off the computer so maybe I can get some of these things done.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. finngarianmama
    Sep 18, 2007 @ 11:53:55

    Hey Woman… wow that’s a TON of projects!!! Hope you get get to a few of them!

    I can show you how to make a recycled wool soaker, Carolynn showed me so if you want to bring a sweater to playgroup sometime, we can help you with that! 🙂

    Reply

  2. mipennsn
    Sep 18, 2007 @ 13:59:05

    We have gotten a good start on the garage. Taking advantage of this nice weather. I have also started getting my craft/sewing stuff organized.

    I may bring one of the sweaters with me tomorrow to playgroup. It is one of the boxes I don’t know where it is right now.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Thanksgiving, Shopping, and Christmas Projects « Smith Family Stories

Leave a comment