“Mommy, I have something to tell you”

I had put both my boys down for a nap in their room, but William (16 months) was pitching a fit to be in the crib and did not want to go to sleep without cuddling with mom.  He was good at first when I put them down, then stood up and started trying to play with Tyler (3 1/2) and crying.  Tyler hates it when William cries in the crib.  Too many times he have heard the call, “Mommy (or Daddy), William’s crying,” and we can hear both of them well.  For a while Tyler associated the crib with William automatically crying.

Well, I had left them upstairs and was getting some work done downstairs and I could hear Tyler singing “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star” his favorite song.  After a little while Tyler comes down stairs, “Mommy, I have something to tell you.  I sang ‘Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star’ to William and he fell asleep.”  I was so proud of him.  He figured out how to help his brother go to sleep and that William actually fell asleep with putting both in the room together awake to fall asleep.  Usually I do one, then the other when the first is sleeping already.

Now to get Tyler to fall asleep.

UPDATE

Tyler is now sleeping under the crib, yes, under the crib with all his blankets.  I wasn’t even sure if he was there, until I moved a couple of blankets.  I told Russ, we now have bunk beds. 🙂

Leave a Reply

