Baking bug

I don’t know why but I have been bit by the baking bug.  Maybe it is because we have been very, very low on funds and I have been trying to think of ways to save some money and feed my family.  Saturday I made cookies from a mix that has been sitting on my counter or cupboard for probably close to a year.  The butterscotch chips had gotten melted (I don’t remember how, just that it was shortly after we got the mix), so I had to chop up the melted together chips.  I liked them at way, since I am not a big fan of butterscotch anyway.  I really like this recipe because it had coconut, rice crispies, and nuts in it as well.  I would love to find a chocolate chip recipe the coconut and rice crispies.

Monday with dinner Russ wanted rolls, so I dragged out the bread machine and cookbook and found a good recipe f or rolls.  I think they would also make yummy hamburger buns.

We are down to our last 2 slices of bread, so I knew we either had to buy some or make our own, since we really can’t live without bread at this house.  Today before I went to work I put a whole wheat, oatmeal, & honey bread in the bread machine and set it so Russ and the boys would have hot bread with dinner.  I was a little jealous because he got to smell it baking and a roast in the crock-pot while I was a work.

Tomorrow (or should I say today) is playgroup.  One of the mom’s is avoiding dairy since her son is sensitive to it so I have been trying to think of things to take to playgroup that she can eat.  Every recipe I have thought of had some form of dairy — butter or cheese.  I finally settled on plan old french bread.  It still should be good, since the usual fair at playgroup is cheese, deli meat, fruit and veggies.   The best part I can smell this one baking since I will be home.  I set the delay timer on the machine so it should be ready about 11am, right before playgroup starts at 11:30.

Well I should head to bed so I will want to get up in the morning and William is getting very heavy sleeping on my arm making it hard to type.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cinnamonamon
    Oct 05, 2007 @ 20:23:14

    It was sooo yummy! You were sweet to think of me! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Tami
    Oct 06, 2007 @ 21:06:24

    Just got to looking at your blogs. Now that you are on this one I don’t get the “new blog” comment on mine at yahoo. Looks like you all have been busy. Have a good one 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

