New Stressors

We got the car taken care of and things are starting to look better finacially, so a new stressor got added to my life.

My grandma feel on Thursday night and broke her wrist in multiple places.  She was living independently in senior housing, but as a family (my dad, his brother, myself, and my grandma’s good friend) do not feel she is safe to live alone anymore, though we have said we will reevaluate after her wrist heals and we will.  She needs supervision with her medications and assistance right now with bathing, cooking, and housework. She is not as strong as she was and has been growing weaker, less stable on her feet.   Right now she is staying with her good friend and I know I was relieved when I heard that she was at her house.

I have the next couple of days off work, so I am going to do my best to find some place new for her to live.  I don’t think a nursing home is the right place for her.  Some sort of assisted living would be much better.  What is very hard is that she has no money, or it might make it easier since she would qualify for more public assistance (though I hate that my grandma has to live off our tax dollars).  We would like to find something by the end of the week if not sooner.

Please pray we make good decisions and find a place that she would be happy in.  My grandma is a very independant woman and hates to admit that she has gotten to the point that she needs help like this.  I don’t really think she is ready to acknowledge that she needs help, but is getting closer to that point.

Has anyone who reads this dealt with this kind of situation and know the phone calls I need to make?  I am going to contact Counsel on Aging and the visiting nurse that has been coming out to see her first thing tomorrow (Monday) to start getting the information I need.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. finngarianmama
    Jan 09, 2008 @ 08:20:50

    Hi Autum, maybe I’ll see you today and we can talk. I used to work in home health care so I might be able to give you some ideas. If she qualifies for Medicaid, that will help immensely with the cost of everything. If I don’t see you, give me a call!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

