So Proud of My Boy

Yesterday could have been a tough day for an almost 4 year old, but he did very well. My dad, sister, Tyler, & I went up to my grandma’s. My dad had some business to do with her and just wanted to see how she was doing. (I think the last 6 weeks, if I have been off on Saturday I have been up to see my grandma, so 4 of the last 6 weeks). When we go, we also do any “job” that needs to be done around her apartment.

Russ was tired and asked if I could take a boy with me. I’ll admit I wasn’t all that thrilled with the idea, but made plans to make it work. I was going to take a coloring book and crayons and maybe a few cars for Tyler to play with. When my dad arrived he brought Tyler’s birthday presents, one of which was a “toy” computer with learning games from V-Tech. Well that went with us to my grandma’s.

Tyler spent almost the entire time we were at my grandma’s playing with his computer. He did play with her cat a little bit and was very curious when I cleaned out the litter box, since we only have fish and never paid attention to the litter box at my mom’s. Even when he got hungry he didn’t go “crazy” like he can. He politely asked for food most of the time until he knew what he could have then he helped himself. He was content with the Ritz and Oreo’s my grandma had in her kitchen until we went to the store and Subway (the only fast food in the town my grandma lives).

When we got home it was past nap time, so we gave up trying to take a nap. Shortly after one of the kids my mom watched last week called, “Can Tyler come sledding with us?” I warned them he hadn’t had a nap, but it was ok for him to go. When he got home we fixed a fast dinner, bath-time, and bed. We made it though all of that without any major melt-downs. He was so good all day. Today has been a little rougher, though still pretty good.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. finngarianmama
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 21:26:09

    It’s ALWAYS good when things go better with the kids than what you think!! I’m glad it was a good day. Hope to see you soon! 🙂

    Reply

  2. tami
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 22:38:00

    Good job Tyler!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

