Church Tonight

Our church doesn’t have church every Sunday night, some Sundays they have small groups, some Sundays nothing or some the have a “special service” like communion.  They did communion differently tonight than I have ever been around.  The elements were available, after a certain point in the service, to come and get then take back to your seat and when you were ready to partake in them.

I started thinking today that Tyler, now that he is 4, needed to start learning to sit quietly in the church service.  Granted a communion service in not necessarily the best service to train a kid.  Tyler easily could have gone to the nursery, but I thought it was important to have him start to learn.  We went prepared– toys, sippy cup, snack, coloring book and colored pencils. Tyler was very good sitting in the service.  He colored for a while.  Dropped his sippy cup twice until he figured out where to put it where it would not fall. Had a nice belch when he finished the contents of his sippy cup (nice in a quiet church service.)
When it came time for the elements of communion (bread and juice), I realized I hadn’t prepared Tyler for not being able to have the bread and juice.  So I leaned over and explained to him that he couldn’t have the bread and juice because Jesus didn’t live in his heart.  I don’t think he quite understood, in fact he told me “Jesus lives in my belly.”   I had to explain to him that Jesus didn’t live in his belly.  The whole time I am trying to explain these concepts that are sometimes hard for even adults to understand, I was in awe of what a responsibility God has given Russ and I in raising these boys.   How it is my responsibility not the church’s, not grandparent’s, not other family members or friends, but MINE.  God may use others to lead them to Himself, but still Russ and I have the primary responsibility for teaching our kids in the way we believe.  What an awesome responsibility and privilege.

I don’t think I would have been as open to God showing me that if it hadn’t been for the fact Tyler was in the service for us.  I know my thoughts probably would not have headed that direction if he wasn’t there.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tami
    Feb 26, 2008 @ 21:58:49

    It is by far is the biggest responsibility we have with these little children.

    btw what is the pix on your blog site–I juat can’t figure it out

    Reply

  2. cinnamonamon
    Feb 27, 2008 @ 23:45:32

    It’s neat how things work out, isn’t it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

