Purity

Our church right now is doing a series on “Escaping”.  So far some of the messages have been on escaping your past/regrets, escaping “religion,” escaping sexual addiction.  This last Sunday was sexual addiction, but the focus to me seemed to be more on purity in our lives.  It has been interesting this week thinking about purity in my life.  I really have taken it beyond sexual purity, though a reminder of sexual purity is always welcome.

At the end of the sermon you could pick up a white silicone bracelet if you wanted.  At first I felt funny wearing it, but I am finding it is helping me with my thinking and realizing when my thinking is not pure.  Like last night when I wanted to fall into a pity party when I was tired and Russ had a bad headache and there was garbage to be taken out, boys to put to bed, remote to find (which didn’t get found until this morning), laundry to do, dishes to clean up, house to pick up and projects to finish.  I did let myself have a pity party until God used the feel of the bracelet on my arm to remind me that my thinking was not right.  I was being unkind to toward Russ and the kids  I was thinking things that I never should have been thinking.

Philippians 4:8 Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, THINK ON THESE THINGS.

Is there room for improvement in the purity side of my life?  Absolutely!!  Russ and I were talking about how the bracelets are affecting our lives.  He said that he has tried to work on the purity side of this life before, but something about this time is different.  I think we were spiritually prepared for thinking about purity by the series, knowing that both of us are thinking and working at being pure, knowing that we are not alone, but a large majority of our church is also thinking and working for the same things, and having a physical reminder of what we are working toward.

“Thank you God, for giving me the reminder that I need to become more pure and working in my life.  Help me on this path as I work toward purity in You not only sexually, but in every area of my life, as I become more like You.”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cinnamonamon
    May 08, 2008 @ 22:43:21

    What a great post (and it sounds like a great sermon!). Thanks — I think I needed it too!

    Reply

  2. Leah
    May 11, 2008 @ 23:48:00

    Great post! I was home sick and missed the last two sermons, 😦 but the one before that really touched me too. I just got done reading the notes from today’s sermon and it sounds like I missed another great one.

    I heard you have some news? Should I write that on here? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

