$0.77

Tyler is going to Boyne Mountain this weekend with my dad and I realized that he need a pair of bigger swim trunks for the water park, so while I was in Saginaw today and had some time to kill but no money for shopping I decided to check out Goodwill and see if they had any swim trunks that might work. I figured it couldn’t hurt to look there and would fit with the little bit of money I could afford to spend. I was thinking maybe $2 for a pair of trunks.

So I looked through the rack, and found a pair of trunks and a pair of shorts in 3T which I can get away with even though Tyler is wearing 4’s in pants and shirts. The prices were not obviously marked, they just had the colored plastic tag hanger (I can’t remember what those things are called.) So I went up to the register, made sure I could use my debit card since I didn’t have any cash on me, and the clerk rang me up. I got both for $.77!! I wished I had the dollar in change with me that I knew was on top of the dryer. I felt like I had gotten the buy of the day — not only had I gotten what I needed, but I got 2 items for less than a dollar. I couldn’t have beaten that even at a garage sale. I think I am going to be doing more shopping at Goodwill and Salvation Army, both of which are here in town. I think I also am going to try to go more by myself, since it was nice to shop by myself and get what we needed.

I enjoyed my free time today between my 2 classes. I had almost 3 hours with minimal plans. I felt like I got a lot accomplished in that little bit of time.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cinnamonamon
    May 22, 2008 @ 23:50:42

    Gotta love thrift shops!! And shopping alone…ahhhhh….

    Reply

  2. finngarianmama
    May 23, 2008 @ 12:41:28

    Thrift stores are great. Not only are you supporting a charity but you’re recycling too. I don’t even like shopping for the kids at regular stores anymore because the prices at thrift stores are so much better… and I’ve been able to get a ton of stuff like new.

    Reply

  3. Tami
    May 25, 2008 @ 16:12:12

    Good finds!!! I don’t really shop at any of those I might check into it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

