Quick Trip

Yesterday we made a quick trip to Lansing.  Tyler has been asking to see his grandparents, “Daddy’s mommy and daddy.”  We have seen my dad a lot recently with everything that has been going on with my Grandma, but we haven’t seen my in-laws since March.

Russ needed to get some prescription refills.  The doctor that he trusts and has done the best for him is in Lansing.  Wednesday I called to get him an appointment, while we couldn’t get an appointment with the doctor until late next week,  we could get an appointment with the PA in the office the next day.  Russ was ok with that so,  I made the appointment knowing it had to be a day trip.  We liked the PA, so that is something that we will do again.  I have avoided the PA in the office to get the doctor, but since it took the PA so long to bring the scripts and lab slip back I am fairly certain that he also consulted with the doctor.

After the appointment, we went to Walmart.  We had about 2 hours to find something to do.  We tried to get together with some good friends, but she wasn’t going to be free until 3:30 which is when my mother in law got out of work.  Walmart didn’t take up the entire time, so we decided to go to a park and let the boys play.  I suggested a different park, but Russ remembered that there was one closer.  Granger Meadows Park was very nice.  The playground equipment was nice.  The sledding hill looked like it was a lot of fun in the winter.  I think if we have to find something to do again, we will head back there again.  William even had fun going down the slides, after some encouragement.

We met my in laws for dinner about 3:45 in time to still order off the lunch menu.  I thought it was a little early to eat dinner, but it ended up being ok.  They didn’t get to spend a lot of time with grandpa since he had to be to work at 5.  I think the boys had fun with them at the restaurant.  We ended up going to Sam’s Club after dinner to get some of the things that we get there after dinner, so the boys got to see grandpa again as we left Sam’s (door greeter).

Tyler rode home with Grandma.  I hoped that he would sleep, but he talked non-stop the whole way to their house.  Russ, William and I ended up stopping shortly at Russ’ grandma’s house.  It was nice to see her.  William took a few minutes to wake up, but he was fully awake and himself by the time we left her house.  Tyler was mad at us when we got to Grandma and Grandpa’s house.  What to you expect when, when he thought we would get there at the same time.  The boys played outside for a while, then we went inside.  My father in law recently got a Wii.  That was fun.  I had not played before, but even I could play decently and I am horrible at video games.  Tyler had fun trying to play.  We bowled, played baseball and golf.  I think we are going to end up getting one at some point.  I wish we could trade in the PS2, for a Wii, but I doubt we could find a place to do that.  We never use the PS2.

We were home less than 10 hours after we left.  No naps for the boys or mom and dad.  William and Tyler did doze a little in the car, but nothing compared to their normal naps.  I think Tyler was so tired he was having bad dreams last night, that he woke up crying twice and we couldn’t figure out what was going on.  William was asleep almost as soon I put him to bed and Tyler was not far behind, except for waking up from the bad dreams.  I just wish I could have slept longer this morning, but I will have some clothes to wear since I just put a load in the washer with my pants.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. finngarianmama
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 22:55:00

    It sounds like a really nice trip! I hope to see you this week! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

