Counting to 5 is hard. . . .

at 4 am that is. I had some free time at work last night, and was working on my knitting. The pair of socks I am working on has a 5 stitch repeat and I don’t know how many times I had to pick my stitches out or slip back the stitches I had just slipped so I could knit them. Ugg! I did much better in “normal” daytime after just an hour of sleep, but I don’t know how I would do now after 3 hours of sleep. It is 5:30 and am ready for bed, but will stay up until 8 or 9, then get up to work day shift tomorrow.

I am really liking my new job. Last night was my first night off orientation and I was very glad to have another nurse who usually works that unit working with me to answer all my questions of things I had learned, but couldn’t remember how to do them. I think one of the most rewarding parts of my job is that I get to know the patients not only their medical conditions, but also the person as well. Since most of our patients are there long-term (the average length of stay on our unit is 16 days and the patients/residents can stay up to 100 days), you really do have time to get to know the patients including their likes and dislikes. I had the same group of patients I had had during orientation, so that part was an easy transition for me.

I will have to do another post about our 4th of July. I didn’t realize my long blogging lapse, between working and going out of town for the 4th I haven’t had much computer time.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. cinnamonamon
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 23:30:19

    I’m glad your new job is working out for you — I forgot to ask you about it today!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

