Works of God Monday

God showed Himself very real to me on Saturday.  I was very out of sorts and I could not figure out why.  I am sure that the pregnancy hormones were not helping.  I just did not want to do anything, was grumpy, and short with Russ and the kids.  I did start working on getting the dishes done, even though I did not want to.  While I was doing them, I started praying.  “Why God am I feeling this way?”

I heard the still quiet voice, “Because you haven’t spent time with me.”  It is rare that I felt God talk to me in that way, but it was so true.  It had been 3 weeks since I had been to church, I worked 2 weeks ago and this past Sunday and when we went up to Boyne we did not go to church the weekend between working.  I do not know when the last time was that I read my Bible.

So after I finished the dishes, I took a bath and took my Bible with me.  I decided to read the Psalms and Proverb of the day.  Psalm 62:1-2 really helped.

My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from him.

He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.

I can rely on God and trust him when I am feeling out of sorts.

While I missed church again because of work, I feel so much better and closer to God.  I am striving to get back into the habit of doing my devotions daily.  It helps to know that I can turn to God when I get so out of sorts, to get my attitude straightened out.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny
    Aug 05, 2008 @ 07:14:59

    Thanks for sharing that, Autum! I always need a reminder of how important it is to spend time with God.

    Reply

  2. Ro
    Aug 05, 2008 @ 07:23:44

    We all can get off track at times. Thanks for being open and sharing that with us.
    It’s a good reminder to pray for one another, also.

    Reply

  3. Alison
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 19:22:37

    I hear you there!!!! I am guilty of not spending enough time in the word myself. With Tim’s work schedule we rarely get to church too. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Alison
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 19:23:08

    that smiley was supposed to be a frown…hmmm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

