God is Good

As you read this blog you may at first wonder why I entitled this God is Good, but I have seen God’s hand in the way everything so far has worked out.

Monday, Russ and I were working on cleaning out our garage. It has been a work in progress since we moved into this house. He got a lot cleaned out and sorted out a couple of weeks ago, but had been waiting for me to help him finish it up. We both had gone up to the attic area above the garage and were surveying what was up there and getting down some of the things that we needed from up there. I had just made the comment that it wouldn’t been good if the ladder fell since neither of us had our phones on us, before Russ headed down the ladder. As he started going down the first few rungs, the ladder fell and he landed on the concrete floor on this rear. I was still in the attic.   Tyler came out the garage to investigate and tried to get the ladder back up for me.  He didn’t know/understand were to go to find a phone to call for help. Russ ended up lifting the ladder back up for me and holding the now bent ladder so I could get down. On after thought, I think that if Tyler could have gotten a phone, I think I would have ended up having Russ call 911 without moving to get me down and got him a little bit quicker treatment. I really didn’t know who to call to help us, if it had been summer and our neighbors were back I would have sent him over there.

As soon as he landed, I knew a trip to the ER was in the near future. I called my mom and got the boys packed up for the night. When we left our house I wasn’t sure which ER we were headed to the one 5 minutes away or the one 35 minutes away where our insurance covers better. It quickly became apparent that driving a long distance was out of the question, so as soon as we dropped the older boys we headed to the closest ER. On CT, they found that he has an L1 fracture (one of the bones of the spine). Defiantly explained the pain he was experiencing, they broke out the stronger pain meds. The plan was to admit him there, in fact he even had a room assignment. After they talked to the neurosurgeon who wasn’t going to be able to get to him soon (my guess people out of town for spring break), they were talking about transferring him. I told them to do it, since transferring him meant we could get to the hospital that we have better insurance coverage at (I think we would have had a 20% copay if we had stayed there).

He finally got admitted to a hospital bed about 3 am and I was exhausted by this time, but I didn’t want to miss any of the doctors. I had run home while they transferred him to get clothes for everyone, take a shower, and drop off to my mom what the boys needed for morning. I am so glad my mom told me to take a shower (I hadn’t managed to take on that day). I still managed to beat him to the second hospital. The nurses were very nice and got me a recliner that I could sleep in for the rest of the night and into the morning. Daniel has done well sleeping in the stroller.

The neurosurgeon finally came to see him about noon yesterday, at that point was not sure what if he was going to do surgery or not. He did finally let him eat, since they were not letting him eat not knowing if or when he would do surgery. The nurse came in about 5 pm and said that the office called and said that Russ was scheduled for surgery 8 am Thursday morning. We now know some of Russ restrictions – not lifting more than 10-15 lbs (Daniel is 12.5 right now) for at least 6-8 weeks, the older boys for up to 4 months or more.

I went home to sleep and gather up fresh clothes for Daniel and take care of my trashed house. I did stop at my mom’s to see the older boys. I think Tyler understands what is going on as much as a 5 year old can. William pretty much rejected me. I am pretty sure he will come around.

How I could see God’s hand —

  • It is spring break in Midland.  Mom is not working at the preschool this week and is proabably (in my mind) why they were having a hard time with the neurosurgeon, which brought up the transfer.
  • He did not have worse injuries.
  • In the last 2 weeks, I learned how to update my status on facebook from my cell phone.  We were able to get lots of prayer from putting out short status messages (I hate entering text messages from my phone)
  • I was still in the middle of a 5 day stretch of day off work, so didn’t have to worry about work yesterday.  (I did call in for 2 days, Wednesday and Thursday and am hoping to work Saturday to help stretch out my remaining FMLA days).
  • Our church just started an attender site, so I was able to put status messages up for our small group there.
  • We got our tax refund last weekend, and I had paid all our bills before this happend and had gotten the bills caught up from maternity leave.
  • Daniel is a good baby and still young enough to sleep most of the day and night, since I am keeping him with me.  He likes sleeping in the stroller.

Things to pray for over the next few days

  • The actual surgery will go well and he will heal quickly and correctly from the break and surgery.
  • Everything will fall into place so I can continue to keep working while he is recovering.

As I started typing this I had started listening to Pandora.com on the Contemporary Christian channel.  The first song was a song we sing in church,  Strong Tower, by Kutless.  The chorus is exactly what I needed to hear. (emphasis added)

You are my strong tower, Shelter over me
Beautiful and mighty, Everlasting King
You are my strong tower, Fortress when I’m weak
Your name is true and holy, And Your face is all I see

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 10:30:32

    WOW! God is good, and you remembering that during such a difficult time is definitely of HIM and all because of His grace! I will be praying for your family!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

