“Run to Jesus!”

This weekend I got to go to the funeral home visitation for a great Christian man who I had the privilege of knowing since I was a little girl, Tom Clark (link to the obituary here). I remember him as a man who loved to study the Bible and share what he learned with others. I remember him encouraging my parents to study the Bible and directing them to resources to help them study.

My mom, sister, brother-in-law and I had the privilege of hearing the family’s story of his death, from his wife. Even now as I am typing this I am starting to tear up. They had gotten the call from the hospital that he was going to the arms of his Savior and were not ready to leave for the hospital at that moment. His wife said after they got that call they were cheering him on to “Run to Jesus, Run to Jesus!” and you know what, I know that he did. Before they could leave for the hospital, they got the call that he was gone. His wife said when she saw him after his death there was such peace on his face. He had fought a long hard battle with cancer, but he is now in his eternal home.

Do I live my life in such a way that I am ready to run to Jesus, if I were to die right now? I am not really sure. I know that I will go to heaven, when I die. Am I living a life that is pleasing my Savior? I hope so and I know there is room for improvement.

Lord, help me be the same light in this world as Tom was and be the example to my kids, family, and friends you want me to be. Amen.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Khara
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 20:29:56

    Good questions to ask yourself, Autum. I often wonder the same things. I’m sorry for your loss, but it sounds like celebration is in order. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

